Skip to content

One of my favorite websites for kids

January 30, 2011

Radha knows all her letters.  That isn’t really that surprising, i think that most kids her age know their letters.  But she has been recognizing letters for a LONG time – since she was barely over a year old!  My mom introduced her to www.starfall.com – a website for education pertaining to reading and writing.  I actually haven’t seen 99% of the website – but I have spent HOURS and HOURS and HOURS on the one section of the website to phonetically teach children their ABCs.  It is a flash driven site, so unfortunately doesn’t work on the iPad or the iPhone, but it is AMAZING.  You can click on any letter of the alphabet, and it will show you the letter, say it phonetically, and then go through several examples of words with that letter with animations or videos or cute pictures and sounds to illustrate them.  Radha has a very short attention span, and since she was barely 6 months old, she would sit through this website for a good 30 minutes!  We used to do it once a day, which is why I think she recognized her letters so early on.  It was often great in the morning when we were so tired and wanted to go back to sleep, because it required minimal involvement on our parts to keep her entertained, and we could kind of veg for a little bit before we really had to wake up.  I felt guilty letting her sit in front of the computer for that long, but she really LOVED it and definitely learned a lot from it!  This is actually what I modeled my Hindi Alphabet video (I’ll write about that later) off of.  Take a look at the site when you get a chance and spread the word to other parents!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2011 5:22 am

    Thanks for sharing. Looks like something my daughter would enjoy.

  2. January 30, 2011 1:55 pm

    I went to that site, because your mom showed it to me. They have an app for the iPad and iPhone, it’s $3 or something, but if you think it’s this good, I’ll get it.

    What’s the best age to start letting babies watch TV or computer screens?

    • February 5, 2011 12:48 am

      Thanks for telling me about the app – I had no idea! I bought it as soon as I saw your comment – it is definitely worth it!

    • February 5, 2011 12:50 am

      As far as letting them watch tv – hmmmm- I think people usually say 2 years old!! I am totally breaking that with Radha because of her eating (I can only get her to eat if I show her Mickey mouse). I felt kind of funny about letting her look at this website for 30m a day from so early – but ibreally think it taught her a lot so I’m fine with it. But honestly I’m not what the “right” answer is!

  3. Sandy Rieder permalink
    January 30, 2011 3:02 pm

    Hi Friend, My in-laws have done starfall with Owen since an early age as well. Owen will be 2 and doesn’t say too many words yet, but definitely knows all his sounds and I really believe it’s b/c of starfall. He absolutely loves this site and has learned so much from it.

Leave a Reply

