Skip to content

How to preserve your kids’ art

February 8, 2011

Our kids, nieces, nephews make SO much beautiful art – I’m sure everyone’s’ do!  So, the big question was: “How do I preserve this art?”  I know that it is not practical for me to think I can physically keep every single piece of art that Radha makes forever…so, I decided to digitally record them.  I either scan them (as you can see in the first several images), or I take pictures of them (the last 2 images).  This way, I can digitally record EVERYTHING – even if it is just scribble – what is a few bytes (or kilobytes) here and there?  And then the ones that I really like, I physically keep. Most of them are likely going to stay in files, but I am planning on getting cork board tiles to put up in our hallway, and display her most recent pieces there all the time.  That way she sees that we think they are important and beautiful, and hopefully gets encouraged to do more!  Another idea I recently had and am going to try out this week, is making 3×5 or 5×5 prints of some her masterpieces, and turn them into thank you cards or blank note cards!  That way I can share her art with everyone and put a special touch on our friendly notes.  I’ll put up some pix of those once I get them done!

FYI – if you are scanning the art, here are a couple of guidelines for resolution:  If you would like to be able to reproduce your scanned image at it’s original size, then you can use 300ppi.  If you would like to be able to enlarge the image – i.e. print an 8×10 from a 4×6 scanned image, then you need to multiply the resolution proportionally.  For example, if you are going to make a 8×12 print of a 4×6 image, you should scan it at 600ppi.  Or if you are going to make a 12×18 print (or something in that ballpark), you should scan it at 900ppi.

Hope that helps!






One Comment leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 9:50 pm

    I LOVE the idea of photographing the artwork. I plan to make a collage of all the images, maybe 50 or so small squares lined up with the art, and then frame it. I saw that online recently and loved the concept.

    It’s so much easier to find something if you just take a quick pic. The other day I took an iPhone pic of a bday invitation I was sent. Then 3 weeks later when I needed the address on the day of the party, I just flipped through my pics, found the address, and the name of the kid for the card.

    PS Radha makes BEAUTIFUL art!

Leave a Reply

