Skip to content

My new purse

February 27, 2011

Meet my two new purses.  Well, they are more like my “everything bags.”  They each can serve as an everyday, casual purse, or a toy bag, or a light grocery bag…you name it!  I recently mentioned Rae Hoekstra’s awesome blog: Made by Rae – which is where I got this pattern from.  She has several free patters on her site…unfortunately this is not one of them.  You do have to pay for it, but it is very reasonable ($6!).  So, unlike my norm, I decided to buy the pattern, because it looked super cool (and because I like to support fellow enterpreunerial moms!).

So these are my results!  I didn’t start off planning on making two right away.  But I realized that the two fabrics I originally picked (the apples and the orange polka dots) really didn’t look right together.  So I cut two more pieces of fabric, and made two bags – which I am totally happy with.  One is a more calm, subtle, relaxed bag with light colors, while the other is more bright, and OPEN YOUR EYES colors!

This was the first time I had ever used Ric Rac – not bad!  I like the touch it gives.

The one thing I found difficult about the pattern, was sewing the cross seams on the edges of the bottom of the bag.  Well, the difficult part (or maybe I should say “tricky”) was getting that seam to be perpendicular to the main midline bottom seam.  On two of my four fabrics, I ended up making very lopsided and slanted seams – doesn’t look so hot.  But on my second go around, I did a much better job.  I guess practice really does make perfect.

If you like what you see, check out Rae’s blog, buy the pattern and then make one for yourself and a friend too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

