Skip to content

Friendly Inspiration

March 12, 2011

We recently met a family from Radha’s class who gave us the above eggs when they came over for dinner. Aren’t they beautiful? I had NO idea that natural eggs come in so many different and wonderful colors! This family has 6 chickens that live in a coup behind their house, and is the source of their daily eggs. Some lay brown eggs, some lay blue ones and other lay greens ones. I find them so much more amazing to look at than the plain old white ones we see in the store!

Well, this family has opened my eyes to many other things about the food industry as well. I will no go into a whole diatribe about it now because I do not yet know nearly enough to be able to speak knowledgeably about it. But I will say that they have inspired me to read and research more about our food and where it comes from, and thus to eat more responsibly.

What have I done so far?

1) I have watched Food Inc. – This documentary is available instantly on Netflix – which is where I watched it (through my Apple TV of course). I was crying within the first 5 minutes and pretty much throughout most of the movie. It is profoundly eye opening and something that I think EVERY meat eater should watch.

2) Watching the above (and talking to our new friends) itself has led me to eat less meat and buy meat more responsibly (at least for now I am trying to buy “cage free” meat that is preferably grass fed.

3) I am now in the process of reading the Omnivore’s Dilemma. I am already at the point where I feel like I can’t eat ANYTHING without feeling guilty! Nevertheless, I am glad that I am reading it and learning about the craziness that is our food industry. Actually, every time I read it I start sweating because I get so upset.

I still have a long list of other documentaries and books to get through that my friend has recommended to me. I will keep you all updated as I go. I recommend reading and watching them as well so you too can be inspired to make a CHANGE

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

