Skip to content

Car and Crayon Roll

March 17, 2011

Radha’s new Crayon and Car Roll!

Whenever we go to dinner or out somewhere, I usually take some crayons and toy cars with us.  However, I usually end up just dumping them in the diaper bag, and…losing them.

So I found this really cute tutorial for a car cozy on Handmade by Jill, and decided to make it with a car cozy on one side and crayon pockets on the other!  All in all it took me about 2 hours to make, so not that bad.

I used canvas for the outside and for the car pockets, and then corduroy for the inside face and the crayon pockets.  I also used a cute embroidery stitch to sew the hem along the top of the crayon pouch.  For the crayon pockets, I sewed each seam 1 inch apart.  However the whole width of the fabric is 17 inches…which is kind of  alot of crayons and leads to alot of bulk when rolled.  So you might want to do slightly larger pockets – like 1.25 or 1.5 inches – especially if you have some fun, fat crayons.

The one thing I would do differently is use a heavy dute strap and velcro forthe closure like Jill does in her tutorial.  I didn’t have any on me, and of course, I was making this spur of the moment at 11:00 at night, so I used what i had: Ribbon.

It works, but it is not so sturdy.

I love the look of the piping – it was my first time using it!  I might be addicted…

On a side note, I’m really excited because today I have a private sewing lesson!  I have been making these projects by teaching myself, reading tutorials and watching you tube videos, but want to learn a little but more about the sewing basics.  So I’m taking a 1 hour private lesson tomorrow – and will probably take more later.  Wish me luck!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

