Skip to content

If you don’t try it, you won’t get it

March 19, 2011

I took this image from the window of a moving bus on a very bumpy road in Tanzania, Africa.  I saw this tree out the window and really wanted to capture it.  So I quickly stuck the camera out the window, aimed, and shot.  This was actually taken with my old Canon Rebel film camera – so I had NO idea if it even came out until I got all 12 rolls of film developed (I do NOT miss the days of having to ration the number of pictures I take!).

The point however, is that I got lucky, and happened to aim at the right spot at the right time.  So the tree is in focus while everything else has the motion from the bus.  I love the feel it gives of peace amidst chaos.

Take home point? If I would have hesitated for even a second to wonder if the picture would have turned out before actually trying to take it, I would have missed the shot!   So it is better to at least TRY and see if you get lucky!  Especially in the world of digital photography when you don’t have to worry about having enough pictures left (at least not as much…you still have to have plenty of flash cards on you though =)

Have fun!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2011 8:57 am

    I sometimes take pictures from windows of moving cars and buses. This picture really came out well!

    • March 19, 2011 10:59 am

      Thanks swk – it is definitely fun to experiment like that. Often you get results you couldn’t have planned for!

  2. March 19, 2011 10:09 am

    Nice shot. Even before reading the article I said to myself “Africa” …and than said “That is a Baobab tree, isn’t it?” …than read the article to make sure I wasn’t seeing things. Point being, the picture is strong enough to convey a connection to the viewer without interference, yet not good enough to take imagination out of it. Interesting enough to make me want to read the article too. Nice work, John

    PS – I know, a lot of BS up there.

    Short comment – Nice shot. Good post.

    • March 19, 2011 10:58 am

      Thanks for the comment – it’s great to know that so much can be conveyed with just a glance. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

