Skip to content

No more feeling guilty

March 28, 2011

Soon after I bought my first DSLR (about 9 years ago) and then especially after I bought my first L lens (about 5 years ago), I found that I was much more inspired to take pictures when I had my “nice” camera with me as opposed to my dinky point and shoot.  I feel guilty saying that because I feel like I should have fun taking pictures no matter what, but the truth is that sometimes, half what inspires me is how I can put my own twist on what I see in the world through the camera I use.  And I have much more control over that filter when I use my SLR than when I use a point and shoot.  My point and shoot was a Canon Power Shot – on which I could actually manually control the shutter and aperture, but still – the effects just weren’t as impressive.

All of that being said…I can’t always have my SLR with me.  Space and time don’t always permit.  Sometimes (many times) all I have is my iPhone.  Back to the guilt.  I often feel so guilt only taking pictures on my phone.  Granted, it has it’s advantages, since it is easy and quick to make videos on the phone (and they auto-focus as opposed to my SLR), but still, I tend to feel guilty.

Recently, on my “girls” trip with my college friends, we went to Sedona.  I brought my camera with me, but when we went out for food, I only had my phone, and I came across this scene:

Unfortunately it is very noisy, but it is otherwise not half bad!  So I decided: NO MORE FEELING GUILTY about taking pictures on my iPhone.  It’s better than nothing, right?  Sometimes you really want to just capture the shot – no matter what you have on you.  And in those cases, something is better than nothing!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. toemailer permalink
    March 28, 2011 8:42 pm

    Still a pretty darn good photograph. Heck, I can remember when people applied darkroom tricks to get that kind of a look 🙂

    • March 29, 2011 8:20 pm

      thanks! it is amazing what you can do with pictures these days =)

  2. March 29, 2011 3:13 pm

    That’s a beautiful shot. 🙂

    There are a lot of people who are making art with their phone cameras. For instance, this Flikr group:

    http://www.flickr.com/groups/73532194@N00/

    • March 29, 2011 8:20 pm

      thanks robin – definitely going to check this out =)

Leave a Reply

