Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge: Slice of Life

March 29, 2011

I recently discovered iheartfaces.com via another photographer’s blog (Photos by Holly) and was more than eager to join the weekly photo challenges!

So for this week’s photo challenge: Slice of Life, I submit the above picture.  I know we are supposed to try to take new pictures for the challenge, but I think this on really fits it well and thus went with this one.  In India, my grandmother does a yearly event at the village temple where she invites all the children from the village to come and eat.  Many of these children’s families have little or no money, and this is a great chance for them to get a big meal.  This was the first time that I had the opportunity to witness and be a  part of the event. Whenever I look at this picture, and specifically the look on the face of the girl in the foreground, it makes me wonder how difficult her life must be.  What she must go through every day.  Hopefully this event can at least ease some of her worry and/or hunger for the day.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. lalita airan permalink
    March 29, 2011 1:42 pm

    You are right. These kids are probably not as sad as you and I are, seeing this picture because they do not know any better. They live in the moment. They have a survival instinct and most of the times their attitude is to go through the day and look for the next.

  2. March 29, 2011 4:54 pm

    This is really neat! I think I’m going to start in on this photo challenge. I love the picture too. I feel like you really captured a deep emotion in her face.

    • March 29, 2011 8:21 pm

      thanks jessica! definitely join in – i think that having something specific to photograph is a great exercise. looking forward to your first submission!

  3. March 30, 2011 3:11 pm

    This is an amazing photograph. You captured something special here.

    • April 1, 2011 9:15 am

      thanks robin =) what’s funny, i didn’t really realize what I captured in her expression until I was looking at the picture on the computer weeks later.

Leave a Reply

