Skip to content

A view from a skylight

April 1, 2011

Perhaps the biggest selling point for the house we moved into last summer, was the skylights.  I remember walking through the main hall (where the entire ceiling is a row of skylights) and seeing the trees outside and feeling peaceful.  I thought to myself: I can only imagine what this is going to look and feel like in the fall with the leaves change colors.  Well, i am sad to say that although I have many pictures of the tree and their beautiful color leaves, I don’t have any of them from the skylight (I will not make that mistake again =)

Today, however, I bring you the view of the trees as seen through the rain and snow dripping down the skylights.  I like that it looks like a reflection in water…but it is actually a view through water.

For some reason one side of the house has water dripping down the skylights, whereas another as mostly single drops that have not yet started to slip and slide down their path to meet the pile of un-raked leaves sitting at the base of the house.

One of my favorite things to do with photographs is to play around with the crop and various effects to make an abstract image that you wouldn’t really be able to see with your eyes.

i CAN”T believe it is snowing…

Didn’t spring technically start last week?

And you wonder why I think about moving to Miami?

Don’t get me wrong, snow is beautiful and fun at times…but I do not like having winter last into April.  By now I should be enjoying the outside with my daughter, playing and running around and not worrying about her little hands burning from the cold!

Ok…lets focus on the Cup half full:

Snow is beautiful.  My husband loves it – so it brings a smile to his face.  Snowmen.  Snow angels.

Sorry, haven’t seen sunlight in a few days…this is what it does to me =)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 9:16 am

    These are lovely, and do look a lot like reflections on water. I can’t wait to see your view of the autumn leaves! It would help, though, if spring would arrive first. 🙂

    • April 1, 2011 3:10 pm

      thanks robin =) yes, spring would be VERY nice. but looking at your pictures, i shouldnt be sad about a few snow falls. although i must say your pictures from today’s post are amazing!

  2. April 1, 2011 10:52 am

    I love these shots! The compositions are so evocative; they remind me of winter days spent indoors watching the rain fall and reading a favorite book.

    • April 1, 2011 3:11 pm

      thanks sunsetseasoul! that is exactly what I did this morning as my daughter slept in…except instead of reading a book i was reading…blogs… =)

Leave a Reply

